Beoordelingen

“A must do”
5 star rating: Highly Recommended Lesley Rhode Island
We had a wonderful day in the Dutch countryside on this tour. A small group led by a very friendly knowledgeable owner, Tol. We were so glad we did this tour and can totally recommend it.
“Must do”
5 star rating: Highly Recommended Gaurav Dubai – aug 2017
I am personally not a fan of large bus tours etc. But I am glad we did it. Small group of 8 people in mini bus and very much personalised. Apostolis and Tone but are awsome guys. We did little but of customisation. Did bus one side and were picked up for the boat tour while returning back so that we could get feel of villages and boat ride as well. Our kids aged 12 and 6 years had a blast.

“Very nice tour, very friendly and friendly guide,”

5 star rating: Highly RecommendedVanda – Italy 6 – aug- 2017

Being a small group makes a difference, really nice places, it’s worth it if you have time to flee half a day from the city to see the beautiful countryside, the windmills and the fishing village. RECOMMENDED”very personalized tour”

5 star rating: Highly Recommended Peter and Britteny 26 – jul – 2017

Was a very personalized tour there was only our family and one other family on the tour so it was great to have the small group, we didn’t feel rushed at all at each of the stops and were able to enjoy every moment. Our tour guide was awesome and very knowledgeable as well. Overall we had a great time, would definitely recommend!

“Great Tour”
5 star rating: Highly Recommended “Michelle S Brisbane Australia
This was an excellent choice for us. We had Teun as our guide and he did a superb job of showing us around. A smaller group means a lot flexibility and a much more personalised tour. Getting to the meeting point was easy, and the whole day was enjoyable. Would definitely recommend this tour to anyone.
 “Amazing tour, must do!”
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
15-Jul-2017 Abbie – United Kingdom
This tour was amazing, as we pulled up to Zaanse Schans we saw big buses of people which made me really appreciate the small group we had. Don’t let the others put you off though the place is big so it shouldn’t feel too crowded. Our group was only me, my partner and another couple. The tour guide, Tol, was super informative and laid back but professional. He was great, despite the weather being horrible. Due to the weather he asked us where we wanted to go and we agreed to split the day up a bit and went into a couple of little villages after the trip the volendam which was so good. Really get the experience of the countryside. Even had a little tasting treat at the end. Would definitely recommend this company the everyone!
“Loved it!”
5 star rating: Highly Recommended Yasotha – Malaysia

July 4, 2017

It was a lovely half day spent at Zaanse Schans and the countryside. We had some time one our own to explore, however i would have liked more time in Volendam. Being in a small group, it was very personalised and enjoyable. Highly recommended!

Awesome guide! Awesome Tour! Worth it!
5 star rating: Highly Recommended

June 14, 2017

 Started out by the ferry and drove into the villages- saw some windmills. Saw how cheese was made- tasted all the types. Saw how clogs are made. Beautiful Countryside. All in all a really fun easy tour.
reviewed by Chet
“Wonderful guide and great tour!”
5 star rating: Highly Recommended

June 27, 2017

 This tour was fabulous from the pick up to drop off. Guide was very interesting and able to answer any questions we had along the way. The village of Volendam is beautiful and should not be missed. We will definitely book another tour with this company when we are next in Holland. Thank you!
xiaoli H
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
Jun 2017 

The Driver/guide sorry forget his name is a handsome, professional, and very nice guy. He guided all scene we expected. The beautiful windmills and fish village. The guide offer us wine to celebrate our successful trip at the end of the trip.

Ann Lorraine P
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
 Jun 2017 

Excellent trip with Apostley as our wonderful guide. Weather was a bit dull and misty to see all the views but overall excellent value for money. Wandered around windmills, visited cheese and clog making factory. Had local fish dishes for lunch and the icing on the cake was when our guide stopped, produced a picnic hamper with schnapps and local biscuits! Excellent

awaywego_98
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
 Jun 2017
We really enjoyed this tour. There were only 6 of us in a mini van with a wonderful guide Roxanne. It was nice to get away from the city and get a taste of the countryside of Holland. The stops were all interesting and the pace of the tour was great for this senior who is not a fast walker. We were blessed with beautiful weather which made this a perfect excursion.
Laurie H 
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
Jun 2017 

The tour was very well organized and or guide was great. Pick up was very smooth and the locations we visited were great. The summer rush was starting so crowds were around but our guide knew how to work around them. I would recommend this group as the trip was well worth the money.

Carol C USA 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended

May 2017 

Would highly recommend this small group to all. Special treatment and extra time where the large group are on a time line. The Villages and Windmills were amazing , not the mention the cheese that we brought back!

abarbure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended

May 2017 

I really enjoyed the tour. I liked the small group, more personal and easy to get answers to any questions. The guide took us to some really Dutch places, I highly recommend this tour.

Sameera P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended

May 2017 

Had a very pleasant time exploring the old towns just outside amsterdam. very nice and knowledgable guide. A small tour group.

GORDANA R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended

May 2017 

Odlican provod

Excellent selection of destinations and very good knowledge guide. A small group has the advantage of in-person get all the information you need. Only recommend a longer retention in Volendam which is beautiful. Wine tasting national drinks on the lake shore was a very pleasant experience.

Ronald L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended

May 2017 

What a great day!! Our guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about his region. The tour itself was well planned and gave us plenty of time to have a good look around. The small group aspect of the tour is one of the best parts. Your get a better feel on the tour rather than being herded on the big bus.

John P. B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended

May 2017 

We had a wonderful time on this tour. It was a small group so we were able to ask questions and received good information about the areas we visited. Just a note, you do need to pay 4 to get into each windmill, but well worth it. The schnapps at the end of the trip was a nice ending to the tour. Our tour guide was the best!

Frederick F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended

April 2017 

Very personal. Great balance of free time and guided information. Feel like a local.

You are viewing reviews for
Small Group Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Old Villages Tour from Amsterdam Including Dutch Schnapps Tasting

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Top

Suzanne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended

April 2017 

This tour was fantastic. There was only 4 of us so it felt like a personal tour. Tol explained all the history on the windmills at Zaanse Schans. Pointing lots of things along our way. He is such a wonderful, local guide. Tol took us to the best place in Volendam to try eel, which was surprisingly nice. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone. Thanks Tol.

Cheryl L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended

March 2017 

Very nice tour, small group just like our own private tour. Our guide is friendly and share with us a lot local story. We are unlucky due to the bad weather, however the whole journey is pleasant due to our good and amazing guide.
Thanks to Apostolis for going extra mile to help us solve the hiccup that we face in Amsterdam.

robyngorman54

5 star rating: Highly Recommended

March 2017 

This tour was by far better than we could have imagined. Tol was probably the best we’ve ever had. There were just two of us, but it was wonderful. The sun was shining and the Windmills in Zaanse Schans were stunning. Volendam was such a picturesque little village we hated to leave. We saw the beautiful Dutch countryside and stopped on a dike to sample a wonderful Dutch drink. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone. The fact that it is a small group tour guarantees you more personalized day. We will definitely be back and will do this all over again. Fabulous isn’t even a good enough word to describe our experience!

Chelsea O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended

March 2017 

What a fantastic tour! Our guide, Apostolis sp? was so knowledgeable and charming and gave us a great look into the Dutch countryside with great history facts and tips on what to see/eat/do around the area. We loved being able to see a different part of the Netherlands outside of Amsterdam, and even on a rainy day, the windmills and little villages were an incredible site. The small group made the tour feel very personal-we loved every stop!

Carol M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended

March 2017 

It was raining, cold and windy on our tour day but that didn’t stop our guide from delivering a fantastic tour through the windmills and historical villages. Included in the tour we watch wooden shoes being made and tasted some delicious cheese. A lunch stop over at a charming local waterfront restaurant provided a nice warm up with a hearty bowl of pea soup with sausage and bacon. Highly recommend!

 

velda l

5 star rating: Highly RecommendedFebruary 2017

There were only 4 of us in this tour and it was really personalised! The tour was informative and fun. Highly recommended.

Catherine S

5 star rating: Highly RecommendedFebruary 2017

February 2017 This small group tour was the highlight of our trip to the Netherlands. Our tour guide, Tol, I believe his full name was Apostoli was fantastic. He was patient with our group of eight and took the time to answer questions as they came up. He shared a lot of his personal experiences with us and balanced our time as we requested. We took this tour in November 2016 and I recommended it to friends who visited Amsterdam in early January 2017. They were fortunate to have the same guide and were so appreciative to have found this opportunity to learn more about the Netherlands from this tour.

Rusitha M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended January 2017

One of the best excursions we did when we are in Europe. We enjoyed the whole day with our Guide. He was very interesting.. Also friendly and flexible. He had good knowledge about what he was talking about… Comfortable vehicle too.

Mark M

5 star rating: Highly RecommendedJanuary 2017

This was an outstanding tour. We were provided a great experience, our guide was very knowledgeable and most accommodating. Highly recommend to all.

Stuart M

5 star rating: Highly RecommendedJanuary 2017

Can and #39;t say enough good. Small personalized attention far better than previously taken big bus tours in area that take you to their own owned stores. This in contrast took us to all locally owned sites like cheese and clog making. Easy to get to across river. Ferry free and only several minutes.

Cristina D

5 star rating: Highly RecommendedJanuary 2017

The tour was fantastic! We were the only ones in the group, our guide was very knowledgeable, flexible, and eager to show us the gems of Netherlands. We learn and enjoyed a lot!

woerle4

5 star rating: Highly RecommendedJanuary 2017

This may have been the coolest tour I have ever done! Our tour guide Apostilis was extremely nice and was willing to go out of his way to make sure we enjoyed the tour. I would highly recommend any of his tours and cannot wait to come back in the summer to see more of Holland with him.

syed

5 star rating: Highly RecommendedDecember 2016

A great tour cover north of Amsterdam which cover Zaanse Schans Windmill, Volendam and Marken. It was easy to follow the direction to the meeting point. Our tour guide is very friendly and knowledgeable in which we learnt about culture and traditional life the Dutch countryside. He also allow just right time to stay in each location. Highly recommended tour.

jjnovotny

5 star rating: Highly RecommendedDecember 2016

This tour was great, we had been to Amsterdam many times but never ventured north. There was only one other couple on the tour, so it felt like we booked a private one. Our tour guide was full of knowledge and great to talk to. We had a really good time!

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed December 31, 2016

Personalised small group tour of the Dutch countryside run by the charming and knowledgeable owner Apostolis, including the Zaanse Schans windmills and Volendam. On route you will also stop at a local clog/cheese making outlet which is very interesting were goods can be purchased.

 

Daniel D

5 star rating: Highly RecommendedNovember 2016

Great to cover north of Amsterdam in half a day. Was the only 2 participants so it became a private tour. Guide Apostoli is knowledgeable, funny, and friendly. Visited Zaanse Schans windmills, very charming. Went to cheese farm and klompen factory and did the traditional costume photo-shoot in Edam – great variety of cheese, there’ll be a couple which should suit your taste. In Volendam, tasted great seafood – raw herrings and fried cod cubes are must-try at much lower price compared to Amsterdam central. Given extra tour to Monnikendam for additional snack stops and drive-bys tour.

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed November 19, 2016 via mobile

We did this tour and Mrs Mariel was our guide. There were only 6 of us and Mrs Mariel was a wonderful and very friendly guide. She ensured that we were very informed and took the time to ensure that we had a great day. We would recommend this tour highly.

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed November 16, 2016 via mobile

Booked this company on viator, the idea of a smaller group was very appealing. On the day of the tour, we met Tuen (sp?) at the free ferry and one other couple joined us in his van. We went to Zaans Schans to see the windmills, explored some fishing villages and visited a clog/cheese making factory. It was an amazing…

Emily B

5 star rating: Highly RecommendedOctober 2016
We had a group of five and absolutely loved it! The directions to the meeting place were easy to follow. Throughout the day our guide allowed us to choose what we wanted to talk about and the amount of time we stayed at each place. Our guide was very nice and funny. We had a great time seeing all the highlights of Holland!

VY N

5 star rating: Highly RecommendedOctober 2016
I highly recommend this tour. Our tour guide is awesome. He provided excellent customer service. Small group tour makes a difference with bus tour. My husband and I really enjoy this tour.

kenneth m

5 star rating: Highly RecommendedSeptember 2016
This was an excellent tour led by a relaxed ,knowledgeable guide.

Sofia D

5 star rating: Highly RecommendedSeptember 2016
We had a great time with this small group tour! We could feel almost dutch :
5 star rating: Highly RecommendedSeptember 2016

Very interesting. I definitely recommend.

 

Murray M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended

September 2016 

Our guide gave us an absolutely fabulous experience of the countryside. Highly recommend this small group tour!

Siddharth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended

August 2016 

This Trip to the countryside was the highlight of our trip to Amsterdam. We picked a small group tour and luckily for us we were the only group as we were 5 of us. ApostleTall, picked us and took us on this tour of Zaanse Schans , Volendam and the countryside. He made the trip memorable with his knowledge, continuous chit chat and trivia facts. From Eel delicacies to clog making to dutch cookies, we covered it all. If not for the Europride parade, we would have had more time to see the other treasures around Amsterdam.Highly Recommend this experience.

David A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended

August 2016 

This was an excellent tour run by Doun for 5 hours in the Dutch countryside. It was a pleasure to do a small group tour rather than a large coach as it was a great deal quicker to get in and out of e places we visited. Out guide was knowledgable and interesting and allowed just the right amount of time at each location. I’d highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended

August 2016 

Our guide was prompt, very friendly, and shared great information. Small group means small group there was only one other couple with us, so the attention was fantastic, and a lot of surrounding area was fit into our small time together. We concluded the trip with a lovely toast of Dutch liqueur on the top of a dike. The whole trip was memorable and well worth it.

Kirsten E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016 

Great small group tour. Personalised, knowledgable and professional. Did not feel rushed and felt very welcomed. Highly recommend this type of tour in preference to a large bus tour.

Berryno5

5 star rating: Highly Recommended

July 2016 

Our guide was wonderful! It was like a private tour with a local, lots of interaction with the guide, great sightseeing, flexible itinerary. I highly recommend!

You are viewing reviews for
Small Group Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Old Villages Tour from Amsterdam Including Dutch Schnapps Tasting

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

TERESA R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended

July 2016 

You cannot miss this Waterland Tour! Very interesting, great guide!

gustafsonem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended

July 2016 

This was an excellent trip! It was a small group with just 4 people so the guide was able to answer many questions we had as we visited each area. While there was a schedule, because we were a small group it gave us more flexibility as we went from place to place. When driving from one place to the next our guide told us a lot about the Netherlands – history, culture, food, etc. and he encouraged us to ask questions so we would learn more. Walking through a windmill was amazing. I highly recommend this trip!

nilamjetha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended

June 2016 

The trip was excellent – the guide was very knowledgeable and customer service was excellent. It was for a small group and it was perfect!

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed June 26, 2016 via mobile

I picked up a flyer at a cafe in Amsterdam Central Station advertising a small group tour of Zaanse Schans, Volendan and Marken lasting 5 hours. Sensing something new and different we took a punt and were not disappointed. The sole operator and owner, Apostolis, drove us and another two clients in his van through some wonderful waterlands landscape and…

Susan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended

June 2016 

Skip the big bus and book this small tour. We were picked up promptly which was great since it was raining hard! Tol has a Volkswagen van that is nice and comfortable. We saw all of the things that the big buses saw but did not have to be in the big crowds. Tol is very accommodating and willing to stop or adjust the tour to your liking. He grew up here and is really knowledgeable about the history and the area. Book this tour, you won’t regret it.

Cassandra J USA 

4 star rating: Recommended

November 2016 

This tour is a great way to see the picturesque villages many people associate with the Netherlands. This tour began in a super-convenient location just a quick, free ferry ride from behind Amsterdam Central Station. I’m really glad we got to see this other side of the area. The windmills were beautiful we even went inside of one and climbed to the top, and so were the fishing villages. We ate lunch overlooking the water. We were in a group of 5, and it is much nicer to have a small group like this. I definitely recommend this tour.

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 23, 2016 via mobile

Small group and great guide. Tol will take good care of you and is flexible if you want to stop or stay longer. I would highly recommend this tour.